June 10, 2006: Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame Grand Opening &
The Reunion on Golden Years of Stock Car Racing in Toronto

On Saturday June 10, 2006 the Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame held its Grand Opening. The new location of the Hall is at Legendary Motor Car in Halton Hills, Ontario. Several Hall of Fame inductees were on hand including Mark Rotharmel, Wallie Branston, Ross de St. Croix, Francis Bradley, Bert Strauss, John De Gruchy, Bryan Stewart, Warren Coniam, Bob Slack and Bruce Mehlenbacher.

The Hall has signed a 3-year lease agreement with Legendary Motor Car and is now working toward raising funds for a permanant facility, that will be owned by the Hall. A Hall-owned facility will bring much-needed stability. The Hall has been leasing its space since the beginning. It was originally located in the basement of the Sports Hall of Fame on the CNE grounds. It moved to the corner of Bay and College Streets in downtown Toronto in 1995. It left that location after a few years and stayed briefly with the Warplane Heritage Musuem in Hamilton. The Hall had spent the last few years in the space that had been previously occupied by the Hockey Hall of Fame at the CNE. The construction of the new soccer stadium on the CNE grounds meant it was time for the Hall to move again.

Nate Salter was the event chairman and host. Also speaking were Thom Dickinson (President of the Board CMHF), Ross de St. Croix (past president), Gordon Krantz (mayor of Milton), Norris McDonald (Toronto Star), Bill Merkley (Director of the Canadian Street Rod Association) and Ted Woloshyn (CFRB morning man).

The second part of the event was a reunion of drivers who raced at the CNE, Pinecrest, Oakwood and Speedway Park. There were a large number of former drivers in attendance. The drivers were introduced by former Pinecrest announcer Ernie Martin. I missed a few but the list included Don Roberts, Ken Weisbrod, Doug Warnes, Howie Scannell, Tom Milligan, Simon Biersteker, Ron Stoughton, Ralph McDonald, Dave Boon, Norm Yates, John McIntyre, Al Mason, Arlene Bailey, Jack Fraser, Don Goodall, Betty Carcone, Ross Thompson, Fred O'Hara, Ken Graham, Diane Warnes, David Brooks, George D'Antimo, Lorne Whittaker, Pete Kelly, Bob Keen, Jack MacDougall, Vic Parsons, Russ Rose, Joan Howard, Dan Rosie, Alf Carter, Bill Freeman, Cliff Gordon, Norm Hopper, Doug Syer, Bob Harrop, Larry Anthony, Roger Spies, David Rose, Ross Devlin, Bill Burrows, John Shirtliff, Gary Dowling and Debbie Martin.

Replica of Jimmy Howard's CNE Modified

1954 Offeyette Quarter Midget

Scott Goodyear's Champ Car

1977 Walter Wolf WR1 Formula 1 car as driven by Jody Scheckter

Horst Kroll's 1984 KR5 Frisbee Can-Am

IMSA Mustang GT

(uncle) Jacques Villeneuve's 1983 March Indy Car

Greg Moore's 1998 Reynard Champ Car